No one enjoys being pulled over, especially for a traffic violation. The first thoughts that go through your mind are probably related to points on your license and an increase in your insurance rates. Then, you probably jump to thinking about how to fight speeding ticket and how much it would cost to hire a speeding ticket lawyer los angeles. However, instead of cycling through the potential hypotheticals, it is best to make sure that you have a real grasp over the four major speeding laws in California.
1. Basic Speed
Any ticket lawyer california will tell you that just abiding by the posted speed limit signs is not good enough. The state uses a basic speed law, which means that drivers must maintain safe speeds for the specific road and weather conditions. Therefore, while it might be fine to obey the posted speed limits on most days, know that these posted limits only reflect driving speeds for dry days with prime conditions. For that reason, to avoid a ticket, you should consider not only the weather conditions but also the number of cars, the road surface, the presence of pedestrians or cyclists as well as the general flow of traffic.
2. Minimum Speed
In addition to the basic speed law, California also uses the minimum speed law. This rule essentially stipulates that a driver can be cited if an officer determines that they are driving too slow and impacting the general flow of traffic. Therefore, it should be noted that there are typically posted speed limit signs to abide by. However, these speeds are not always suitable for all types of conditions. Therefore, to avoid a citation for breaking the basic speed law or the minimum speed law, it is necessary for drivers to use their best judgment while driving.
3. Maximum Speed
California also has a maximum speed law, which prohibits drivers from exceeding the posted speed limit in any situation. For example, most highways in the state permit maximum speeds of 65 mph. However, there are a few exceptions, with some roads stating a maximum speed limit of 70 mph. Although, it is necessary also to note that two-lane highways, especially those without dividers, have a maximum limit of 55 mph unless there is a traffic sign stating otherwise.
4. Prima Facie Speed
In addition to basic traffic speeds, which are typically posted, California also abides by certain prima facie speed limits, which are speed limits that must be observed in specific areas. For example, you can only drive 15 mph in a railroad crossing, alleys and highway intersections with low visibility, less than 100 feet. Also, 25 mph must be followed in residential areas, school zones and business districts.
While these four speed laws might seem complicated at first, before long, they become second nature. However, whatever your feelings are about these laws, just keep in mind that posted speed limits and keen driver judgment are essential to keeping the roadways safe and ensuring that you get to where you’re going in one piece. However, if you happened to get pulled over and ticketed, don’t hesitate to contact a traffic ticket lawyer.